The pineapple quest

19 02 2013

I am VERY pleased to report the successful completion of the hunt for the elusive carved wooden pineapple (nanás in Balinese)! Mark in Hawaii, where Fran and I stayed at the start of the trip, has a House made in Bali and he asked me if I could find him some carved wooden pineapples for his stairs. Sounded easy enough…

The first time we were in Ubud I searched and searched, but only found them one place and they were quite small. I heard rumors of a village just north of Ubud that had carvers who specialized in wooden fruit. Apparently the demand has dwindled, however…

So today I hired Wayan, a driver I used yesterday, to take me to the village of Tegalalang for one last attempt. With Wayan’s help we found a shop with brightly painted wooden fruit, including lifesize pineapples. But Mark wanted unpainted wood – so close!

Then Wayan wandered into the back of the woodcarver’s shop and found some unpainted ones on a shelf, covered in dust, dirt and spider webs. Only problem was there was no one around to sell them to us!. We found a girl next door who eventually tracked down the shopkeeper, who told her the price. We found 3 that seemed in pretty good shape, cleaned them up a bit, and I gladly gave her $5 apiece.

I considered trying to bring them on the plane since I learned early on how expensive mailing packages from Bali to the US is, but it just wasn’t feasible. So the packers at the post office bubble wrapped them and I paid $40 to ship them to Mark via a slow boat. So in 2-3 months, Mark should have his pineapples! Here they are, at the back of the wood carver’s shop.

Actions

Information

5 responses

19 02 2013
Geri B

OMG!!! That is great news. Only I can really appreciate the magnitude of this accomplishment!!!

Like

19 02 2013
dgamm

How true! (Geri was with me at the start of the pineapple quest.)

Like

19 02 2013
Tom Gullett

Diane: wooden pineapples — the first step to an import business. The bug has bitten.
-Tom

Like

19 02 2013
Babs Pilling

Great story, Diane -thanks for taking us along on your trip with you. I thought of you today at Philip’s memorial service and reception at Delano’s after -that man was loved! -it was a really nice, simple service and reception of music and stories… “there are angels hovering round…” take care -XO -Babs

Like

19 02 2013
dgamm

Hi Babs! I’m sorry to have missed the memorial for Philip. He’s been my thoughts for sure, after I got the news from Terry… A reception at Delano’s sounds perfect. I’m sure there was some good music. Sorry to miss Moosejaw this year!

Like

Leave a Reply

